Refugee Eligibility

//Refugee Eligibility
Refugee Eligibility2018-01-16T18:17:57+00:00

Who is Eligible for Refugee Programming?

There are multiple immigration statuses that the Office of Refugee Resettlement (ORR) deems eligible for ORR-funded programs, the majority of which are offered for up to five years after arrival to the U.S. Eligible statuses include:


People admitted to the U.S. through the refugee resettlement program are eligible for all ORR funded programs and services. They also receive short-term services through the Reception and Placement (R&P) program, funded by the U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Population, Refugees and Migration (PRM).

Special Immigrant Visa (SIV) Program

This program is available to Iraqi and Afghani nationals who supported the U.S. armed forces as interpreters or translators, or Iraqi/Afghani nationals who were employed by or on behalf of the U.S. government in Iraq or Afghanistan for a period of at least 12 months, and who have experienced an ongoing serious threat as a consequence of that employment. These foreign nationals must self-petition for this special immigrant visa classification.

Cuban and Haitian Entrant

The Cuban-Haitian Entrant Program (CHEP) is a federal program administered by U.S. Citizenship and Immigration Services (USCIS) at the U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) to provide services to eligible Cuban and Haitian nationals. Individuals arriving through this program are eligible for refugee benefits and services.

Prior to January 12, 2017, Cuban nationals were granted parole status at the U.S. border. These individuals were admitted through what was known as the “wet foot/dry foot” policy, which allowed Cubans who had reached U.S. soil to be paroled into the United States and to apply for lawful permanent resident status. Parolees were also eligible to participate in refugee programming funded by the Office of Refugee Resettlement.

On January 12, 2017, the Department of Homeland Security announced termination of the “wet foot/dry foot” policy.  Cuban entrants and parolees who arrived in the U.S. prior to this date continue to be eligible for the services described above. Cuban nationals who were apprehended at U.S ports of entry or near the border on or after January 12, 2017 may be placed into expedited removal proceedings in the same manner as nationals of other countries. The Cuban Family Reunification Program was not affected by this change in policy.

More details about the DHS policy changes and the reasons they were made can be found here.

Depending on their immigration paperwork, Cubans and Haitians may be eligible for ORR benefits and programs. A list of eligible statuses can be found here.


When people flee their own country and seek sanctuary in another country, they apply for asylum – the right to be recognized as a refugee and receive legal protection. Just as with refugees, an asylee/asylum seeker must demonstrate that his or her fear of persecution in his or her home country is well-founded. If a person’s asylum case is approved, then they are eligible for refugee benefits and services. They are not eligible while their asylum case is pending.

Trafficking Victim

Individuals who receive a certification letter from the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) due to being a victim of a severe form of trafficking are able to access services and benefits to the same extent as refugees. More information human trafficking can be found here.

Secondary Migrant

This term is not an official immigration status but rather a descriptor used within the U.S. Refugee Resettlement Network to describe refugees who move from the state where they first were resettled to a different or “secondary” state. They can receive ORR funded services in a secondary state.